Taj Mahal ? Giant Step / De Ole Folks At Home ? Rare Near Mint Dbl LP -
  $   30


  • Taj Mahal ? Giant Step / De Ole Folks At Home ? Rare Near Mint Dbl LP -

$   30 Sold For
Nov 11, 2017 End Date
Nov 8, 2017 Start Date
$   30 Start price
1 Number Of Bids
USA Country Of Seller
eBay Auctioned at


Welcome to Classic Cadillac Records!  My goal is to provide each and every customer with the best possible buying experience, no matter the size of the order.  Unlike most sellers, I advertise all my items clearly and in as much detail as possible, without shouting at you in all caps.  I take multiple high quality pictures and never use stock photos, so you know exactly what you’re buying.  I take great pride in my work and go the extra mile, which can clearly be seen in my listings compared to other sellers that put minimal effort into theirs.  I visually grade all my records as accurately as possible and will never grade anything above Near Mint unless it’s still sealed.  Please note that a visual grade can differ from a play grade, and am happy to spot check a record upon request.   All orders are shipped within 1 business day (usually sooner) and packed with extra care to ensure fast, safe arrival.  I combine shipping on multiple orders to save you money and gladly ship worldwide.  Please look closely at all pictures, read all relevant details and ask any questions you may have before buying.  I offer a full 30-day return policy on everything I sell, so buy with confidence!  And most importantly, thanks for looking!

Giant Step/De Ole Folks at HomeStudio album by Taj MahalReleased1969GenreBlues, blues rock, country blues, Delta blues, country, CajunLength69:15LabelColumbiaProducerDavid RubinsonTaj Mahal chronologyThe Natch'l Blues
(1968)Giant Step/De Ole Folks at Home
(1969)The Real Thing
(1971)Professional ratingsReview scoresSourceRatingAllmusic

Giant Step/De Ole Folks at Home is the third studio album by American blues artist Taj Mahal. A double album, the first disc (Giant Step) is electric, while the second (De Ole Folks at Home) is acoustic. Esquire magazine included this album at number 27 on its list of "The 75 Albums Every Man Should Own" on March 9, 2009.

In less than 24 months, Taj Mahal (guitars/vocals/banjo/harmonica) had issued the equivalent of four respective long players. The electric Giant Step (1968) was released alongside the acoustic and decidedly rural De Ole Folks at Home (1968). The nine cuts on Giant Step feature support from the instrumental trio of Jessie Ed Davis (guitar/keyboards), Gary Gilmore (bass) and Chuck Blackwell (drums). They back Taj Mahal on a wide selection of covers ranging from Carole King and Gerry Goffin's "Take a Giant Step" to the upbeat and soulful reading of the Huddie Ledbetter blues staple "Keep Your Hands off Her." The arrangements are unique and offer the artist's distinctive approach. Nowhere is this more evident than the practically jovial mid-tempo "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl" or the freewheeling abandon that is brought to the 18-wheeler anthem "Six Days on the Road," recalling the version of "Ain't That a Lot of Love" from Taj Mahal's preceding effort Natch'l Blues (1968). Additionally, Blind Willie Johnson's "You're Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond" stands out with a strong and soaring gospel-flavoured score. Giant Step concludes with "Bacon Fat," a number attributed here via Garth Hudson and Robbie Robertson of the Band. That said, it may be better-known from the man they called Mr. Rhythm, Andre Williams, whose scattered down-home spoken interludes punctuate his February 1957 Top 10 R&B hit -- which incidentally was created under the working title "Diddle, Diddle Womp, Womp." Parties searching for an apt introduction when discovering Taj Mahal's voluminous catalogue are encouraged to consider Giant Step as a highly recommended reference point.  -AllMusic Review by Lindsay Planer

Track listing

Giant Step

  1. "Ain't Gwine Whistle Dixie No More" (Taj Mahal, Jesse Ed Davis, Gary Gilmore, Chuck Blackwell)
  2. "Take a Giant Step" (Carole King, Gerry Goffin)
  3. "Give Your Woman What She Wants" (Taj Mahal, Joel Hirschhorn)
  4. "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl" (Don Level, Bob Love)
  5. "You're Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond" (Buffy Sainte-Marie)
  6. "Six Days on the Road" (Carl Montgomery, Earl Green)
  7. "Farther on Down the Road (You Will Accompany Me)" (Taj Mahal, Jesse Ed Davis, Gary Gilmore, Chuck Blackwell)
  8. "Keep Your Hands Off Her" (Huddie Ledbetter)
  9. "Bacon Fat" (Robbie Robertson, Garth Hudson)

De Ole Folks at Home

  1. "Linin' Track" (Huddie Ledbetter)
  2. "Country Blues No. 1" (Traditional; arranged by Taj Mahal)
  3. "Wild Ox Moan" (Vera Hall, Ruby Pickens Tartt)
  4. "Light Rain Blues" (Taj Mahal)
  5. "Little Soulful Tune" (Taj Mahal)
  6. "Candy Man" (Rev. Gary Davis)
  7. "Cluck Old Hen" (Traditional; arranged by Taj Mahal)
  8. "Colored Aristocracy" (Traditional; arranged by Taj Mahal)
  9. "Blind Boy Rag" (Taj Mahal)
  10. "Stagger Lee" (Harold Logan, Lloyd Price)
  11. "Cajun Tune" (Taj Mahal)
  12. "Fishin' Blues" (Henry Thomas, Taj Mahal)
  13. "Annie's Lover" (Traditional; arranged by Taj Mahal)


Giant Step

  • Taj Mahal - vocals, harmonica, banjo, Mississippi national steel-bodied guitar
  • Jesse Ed Davis - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, organ
  • Gary Gilmore - electric bass
  • Chuck "Brother" Blackwell - drums

De Ole Folks at Home

  • Taj Mahal - vocals, harmonica, guitar, banjo
  • Brian Ross-Myring, Chris Hinshaw, Jerry Hochman - engineer
  • Virginia Team - cover design
  • Jesse Ed Davis - typography/hand lettering

price rating