CLASSIC RECORDS LP V6-4053: Ella Fitzgerald, Clap Hands Here Comes Charlie - OOP
  $   300


$   300 Sold For
May 3, 2014 End Date
Apr 16, 2013 Start Date
$   300 Start price
1 Number Of Bids
Canada Country Of Seller
eBay Auctioned at


****Welcome to our eBay listing, thanks very much for looking!

****FREE SHIPPING to the USA and/or CANADA - all other locations are subject to a reasonable shipping charge.

****Please check out our other eBay store listings and eBay auctions for more great LPs and CDs - new items added daily!

****To access our eBay store either click on the little red door at the top right section of any of our eBay listings or, click on -

Background on this eBay item -

Ella Jane Fitzgerald (April 25, 1917 – June 15, 1996), also known as the "First Lady of Song", "Queen of Jazz", and "Lady Ella", was an American jazz and song vocalist. With a vocal range spanning three octaves (D?3 to D?6), she was noted for her purity of tone, impeccable diction, phrasing and intonation, and a "horn-like" improvisational ability, particularly in her scat singing.

Fitzgerald was a notable interpreter of the Great American Songbook. Over the course of her 59-year recording career, she was the winner of 13 Grammy Awards and was awarded the National Medal of Arts by Ronald Reagan and the Presidential Medal of Freedom by George H. W. Bush.

As Will Friedwald noted,
Unlike any other singer you could name, Fitzgerald has the most amazing asset in the very sound of her voice: it's easily one of the most beautiful and sonically perfect sounds known to man. Even if she couldn't do anything with it, the instrument that Fitzgerald starts with is dulcet and pure and breathtakingly beautiful. As Henry Pleasants has observed, she has a wider range than most opera singers, and many of the latter, including Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, are among her biggest fans. And the intonation that goes with the voice is, to put it conservatively, God-like. Fitzgerald simply exists in tune, and she hits every note that there is without the slightest trace of effort. Other singers tend to sound like they're trying to reach up to a note - Fitzgerald always sounds like she's already there. If anything, she's descending from her heavenly perch and swooping down to whatever pitch she wants.
Henry Pleasants, an American classical-music critic, wrote this about her:
She has a lovely voice, one of the warmest and most radiant in its natural range that I have heard in a lifetime of listening to singers in every category. She has an impeccable and ultimately sophisticated rhythmic sense, and flawless intonation. Her harmonic sensibility is extraordinary. She is endlessly inventive... it is not so much what she does, or even the way she does it, it's what she does not do. What she does not do, putting it simply as possible, is anything wrong. There is simply nothing in performance to which one would take exception... Everything seems to be just right. One would not want it any other way. Nor can one, for a moment imagine it any other way. Fitzgerald had an extraordinary vocal range. A mezzo-soprano (who sang much lower than most classical contraltos), she had a range of “2 octaves and a sixth from a low D or D flat to a high C flat and possibly higher”.
Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie! is a 1961 studio album by Ella Fitzgerald, with a jazz quartet led by Lou Levy. The liner notes are by Benny Green of the London Observer.

CLASSIC RECORDS / Verve Records LP item.

Record Made in the USA

Pressing is in STEREO

Record Speed: 33 1/3 rpm

Earliest (and best) version of this audiophile reissue by Classic Records - using 180-gram pure virgin vinyl, this title is long out of print.

Record Made in: mid 1990s - original LP were issued in 1961 by Verve Records.

Record Catalog Number: V6 4053

Featured on this item -

Ella Fitzgerald

Ella Fitzgerald - vocals
Lou Levy - piano
Herb Ellis - guitar
Joe Mondragon - bass on tracks 1-14 only
Gus Johnson - drums

LP Title & Music on this LP -

Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie!

Track Listing -

Side One:
  1. "A Night in Tunisia" (Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Paparelli) – 4:06
  2. "You're My Thrill" (Sidney Clare, Jay Gorney) – 3:35
  3. "My Reverie" (Larry Clinton, Claude Debussy) – 3:16
  4. "Stella by Starlight" (Ned Washington, Victor Young) – 3:17
  5. "'Round Midnight" (Bernie Hanighen, Thelonious Monk, Cootie Williams) – 3:28
  6. "Jersey Bounce" (Tiny Bradshaw, Buddy Feyne, Edward Johnson, Bobby Plater) – 3:33
  7. "Signing Off" (Jimmy Campbell, Reg Connelly) – 3:45

Side Two:
  1. "Cry Me a River" (Arthur Hamilton) – 4:13
  2. "This Year's Kisses" (Irving Berlin) – 2:14
  3. "Good Morning Heartache" (Ervin Drake, Dan Fisher, Irene Higgenbotham) – 4:17
  4. "(I Was) Born to Be Blue" (Mel Tormé, Bob Wells) – 2:42
  5. "Clap Hands! Here Comes Charley!" (Ballard MacDonald, Joseph Meyer, Billy Rose) – 2:41
  6. "Spring Can Really Hang You up the Most" (Fran Landesman, Tommy Wolf) – 6:13
  7. "The Music Goes Round and Round" (Eddie Farley, Red Hodgson, Mike Riley) – 2:27


  • The LP jacket is in Mint, FACTORY SEALED condition!

  • The jacket has NO seam splits - it is completely intact (see picture for more detail).

  • The jacket has NO drill holes or saw marks of any kind.

  • The outer plastic cellophane (bag) wrap is NOT torn in any way. 

  • There is NO hand writing on the front or back of the jacket.

  • The cover has clean and sharp colors - see pictures with this listing for more detail. 

The LP (vinyl) itself:

  • The LP is assumed to be in MINT condition as well as this item is FACTORY SEALED!!

  • This is the mint copy you have always wanted in your collection - any super picky audiophile would be happy with this one!

A Short Note About LP GRADING -

Mint = Only used for sealed items. Near Mint = Virtually flawless in every way. Near Mint Minus = Item has some minor imperfections, some audible. Excellent = Item obviously played and enjoyed with some noise. Very Good Plus = Many more imperfections which are noticeable and obtrusive.
We now have our own website with lots of out of print LPs and CDs! You can check it out at -

price rating